The 2nd International Conference on Necrotic Enteritis will be held on July 11-12th 2018, just prior to the AAAP Annual Meeting

Items of Interest

Click here for answers to questions about the Veterinary Feed Directives

AAAP Media Coverage

AAAP issues statement on misleading marketing claim for chicken (1/6/17)

The Poultry Site
Watt AgNet
Poultry Health Today
US Poultry Wire

Woody Breast not Linked to Infectious Pathogens or Food Safety

AAAP Hall of Honor Inaugural Class

Elanco Scholarship News Release

Read your issue of Avian Diseases on your favorite Reader (iPad, Kindle and more). Look online for ePub or Mobi files under "Supplemental Material" to download onto your device. Available for AAAP Members and Avian Diseases subscribers.

Gift A Chicken Project, coordinated by Arizona State University, provides rural Ugandan families with flocks of special, hybrid chickens that will guarantee the families better nutrition and a sustainable source of income.

Congratulations to Dr. Jagdev Sharma, & Dr. Sylvia Lemus Sharma.

Learn More here.

 Avian Pathology Continuing Education Materials Available On-Line

A collection of over 600 virtual slides of avian histopathology cases with a reduced rate for AAAP Members

Provided by
Dr. Oscar Fletcher and
Dr. Tahseen Aziz

Available through the Continuing Education office in the College of Veterinary Medicine at NC State

Commentary from CAST available: The Direct Relationship between Animal Health and Food Safety Outcomes


Keep our Food Safe

Frequently Asked Questions about Antimicrobial Use and Antimcrobial Resistance

We are now on Facebook

Members should join our AAAP Members group

L. Dwight Schwartz Travel Scholarship
2018 Award Information

Deadline for submissions: November 1 (Extended to November 15)


Dr. Schwartz was a caring and dedicated poultry pathologist and educator who faithfully encouraged and supported veterinary students in their efforts to fulfill their career aspirations.  He was a constant voice of encouragement and was responsible for training and mentoring many veterinary students during his long and distinguished career.  The AAAP annually selects an outstanding student(s) to receive the L. Dwight Schwartz Travel Scholarship to attend the Avian Medicine Section of the Annual Meeting of the American Veterinary Medical Association.

The purpose of the award is to introduce veterinary students to the many aspects of poultry medicine and to facilitate their interaction with research scientists, poultry diagnosticians, and clinical poultry veterinarians who would further their education and training.

Qualification Criteria:

The applicant must be a student enrolled in a DVM/VMD program in an AVMA-accredited college of veterinary medicine.

The applicant must have demonstrated an interest in poultry medicine by participating in one or more of the following:

  • A research project pertaining to some aspect of poultry medicine.
  • A poultry-related externship or work experience.
  • Elective poultry medicine/science courses.
  • Preference will be given to applicants desiring to give an oral or poster presentation at the annual AAAP meeting.
  • Statement indicating that the applicant will attend the poultry medicine section of the AVMA conference.

The award(s) shall be competitive and shall be in the amount of up to $1,500 to help defray travel expenses to the American Veterinary Medical Association’s meeting.  Receipts will be required.  The number of awards to be given will be determined by the AAAP Board each year.  The first award was given in 2002.

Awards will be based on the following:

  1. Submission of a two-page narrative statement describing the applicant's interest, experience, and career aspirations in the field of poultry medicine
  2. Submission of two letters of recommendation from faculty (at least one of them from an AAAP member).
  3. Submission of grade transcripts.

Previous recipients of this award are:


Suzanne Young
Andrea Sinclair
Bradley J. Turner
Ingrid Edwards
Mark A. Burleson
Devorah Marks
Lauren Boswell
Annika Hoffman
Travis Schaal
Dan Wilson
Thomas Gaydos
Nichelle Peck
Callie S. Pierce
Eric Shepherd
Maria Arendt and Brandon Armwood
Corissa Steimling

Click here for the application form


powered by MemberClicks