Bruce W. Calnek Applied Poultry Research Achievement Award
Award Information

Deadline for submissions: February 15


The Bruce W. Calnek Achievement Award is given to a member of AAAP who has made outstanding research contributions resulting directly or indirectly in a measurable, practical impact on the control of one or more important diseases of poultry. Examples would include, but not necessarily be limited to, such contributions as: development of a successful vaccine or other immunogen; establishment of methodology that resulted in control through an eradication program; finding successful chemotherapeutic approaches; discovering the etiology, or elucidating the pathogenesis, immunology, etc. that laid the foundation to a successful disease control approach. The award shall be in the amount of $1,000.00.  The award shall not be given more than once to a recipient.

Qualification Criteria:

The nominee must be a member (any category) of the AAAP.

Awards will be based on the following information:

  1. The cover letter is to be the letter of nomination.
  2. No more than two seconding letters.
  3. A brief statement of significant contributions to the field of avian medicine.
  4. Biographical Information 1:  Institution(s) attended, degree(s) granted, and
    area(s) of study.
  5. Biographical Information 2:  List of the professional positions held by the nominee.  In addition, state the length of time and activities associated with those positions.
  6. Any other biographical information considered pertinent to this award.
  7. A bibliography.
  8. State the 5 publications that are considered by the nominator to be most significant.  If these publications are printed in a journal other than Avian Diseases, you may be asked to submit a reprint of the appropriate paper(s).  It is not necessary to send any reprints at this time.

Previous recipients of this award are:

Stephen Hitchner
David A. Halvorson
Nathaniel L. Tablante
David Suarez
Carol Cardona
2010 Mark Jackwood
2011 K. V. Nagaraja
2012 Jack Gelb, Jr.


Jagdev Sharma
John K. Rosenberger
Holly S. Sellers
Guillermo Zavala
Erica Spackman

Please send nominations by mail, or E-mail (preferred) to:

American Association of Avian Pathologists
12627 San Jose Blvd., Suite 202
Jacksonville, FL 32223-8638
904.425.5735 (Office)
281.664.4744 (fax)
[email protected]