AAAP Foundation/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Program
The AAAP Foundation and Merck Animal Health are dedicated to promoting scientific knowledge for the health and well-being of poultry and a safe food supply as well as supporting outstanding veterinary students.  Merck Animal Health is proud to demonstrate its dedication to veterinary students by providing $50,000 in financial support to award ten second and third year students with $5,000 scholarships.  Merck's partnership with the AAAP Foundation helps to achieve the Foundation's goal of assisting students with financial support to encourage a career track in poultry health and well being, or food safety.
Criteria and Application
Scholarships will be awarded based on assessment of the following credentials:

1. Academic record.
2. Letters of recommendation provided by two persons who are knowledgeable about the applicant and his or her career goals; submitted by the writer and separate from the application.
3. Experience related to poultry heath and well-being and/or poultry food safety
4. A brief essay (500 words or less) describing career goals.

Student Requirements:
• Currently enrolled and in good standing at an AVMA accredited and
recognized school of veterinary medicine.
• Degree program is focused on poultry health and well-being and/or food safety.

Scholarship is open to 2nd and 3rd-year veterinary students only.

Program Timeline

• Application Deadline – November 1
• Scholarship Notification – January 31


Common Application

The AAAP Foundation Poultry Scholarship, the AAAP Foundation/Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship, the AAAP Foundation/Elanco Memorial Scholarship, and the AAAP Foundation/Cobb Scholarship use a common application form.  Students applying for one or more of these scholarships will indicate as the scholarship(s) for which they are applying at the beginning of the application form.  Please complete only one application form.

Click Here to Apply

2018 Award Winners



North Carolina State University



North Carolina State University



University of Georgia



Kansas State University



Kansas State University



University of Pennsylvania



Michigan State University



North Carolina State University



Cornell University

K Denise


Oregon State University

2017 Award Winners

Corissa Steimling Ohio State University
Katharine Venters North Carolina State University
Valerie Marcano University of Georgia
Randi Clark Mississippi State University
Vacques Hines Purdue University 

2016 Award Winners

Brandon Armwood North Carolina State University
Valerie Marcano University of Georgia
Chase Miller Kansas State University
Sarah Reichelt North Carolina State University
Abigail Reith University of Missouri